Baptism of Carl Frederick

sp_a0408_22.jpg

Carl Frederick, our fourth son, was baptized yesterday according to the BCP 1662.

Having come to a clear understanding of the ordinance over the past few years, and having escaped the evangelical/baptistic theology that I was taught, my wife and I were greatly blessed by our understanding of what God was doing by means of the “mystical washing”.

My point is that a right understanding of the grace of Baptism is a means whereby God increases our love and gratitude towards him. The sacraments are truly a means of grace, and not only towards those receiving them.

3 thoughts on “Baptism of Carl Frederick

  1. Ever since I have come to a better understanding of baptism (by God’s grace and by the help of your papers on baptism and my mentor, Shaun) I’ve been deeply touched by every baptism at our church. I can only imagine how if feels to be a parent and to see the visible means of their child inheriting the promises of God.

Leave a Reply

